Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for July 20th, 2009

My Mac is Fixed

I began this blog by stating my Mac crashed.

So to end this blog with a true full circle…They finally fixed it.

My time without the Mac was surprisingly refreshing. When you’re without something you rely on for so long, usually you’ll go crazy. But I enjoyed it.

I read (how good is the Kite Runner!). I went to the gym. I ate.

It was good being without my laptop. But when I finally got it back, I realized that I missed it. And that I needed it.

Why is Aamir talking about Macs? And why did he just refer to himself in third person?

First off…sorry about the third person thing. I’m on a high horse right now because I defied by mom by bringing home Wendys instead of eating what she cooked. Rebellious much?

As for my Mac. My Mac is what I feel about America. It was good to be without it. And I appreciated the time I had away from the Mac. But now that I have it back, I realized how fortunate I was.

Make sense?

Good to be back home. I’ll always remember the Summer of ’09.

Read Full Post »

I’ve had a difficult time trying to put into words what the trip and internship meant to me because I’ve been overwhelmed with emotion.

Before I left for the trip, I was gradually getting closer and closer to leaving my culture behind. It wasn’t because I didn’t care about it. I just didn’t see the importance of it.

I’m not going to say the trip to India gave me cultural rebirth. But it put me on the right track. I’m taking more steps towards appreciating my culture. I understand that diversity should be cherished. Our differences make us unique. And in the end, our uniqueness is what defines us.

Thank you to the 9 students who traveled with me and anyone who I interacted with in India. You will never understand what you did for me.

And thank you to Professor Goenka. None of this would have been possible without you. I will never forget this trip. I will never forget you. Thank you.

Read Full Post »

This list will probably make no sense to anybody who did not travel to India with me.

And that’s ok.

Zenzi
hawaiian hut
legen wait for it dary
hard rock cafe
“Shah Rukh Khan kha office”
totos garage
red box cafe
OM
seeing tatas everywhere
chicken pasta at whistling woods
Rickshaw walas

Read Full Post »